Newbie needs some education

Started by zarathust, December 26, 2013, 11:15:59 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

zarathust

I have recently put together an off grid system comprised of 48 volt battery bank, dual xw 6000w inverters and 10.5 kw generator. Everything seems to be functioning but not sure I'm getting the most of the system. Generator runs too frequently (in my opinion), batteries drain down faster than I think they should with rather small loads put on her, but again I'm fairly new at this so I'm not totally sure what too expect nor how to insure that the system is performing as efficient as it should. Any useful information would be greatly appreciated. Thanks, Brian G 

Robin

We know what is draining your batteries. The inverters. We do not know what you are charging them with or what the batteries are or what your loads are?
Need a full description of the system. Since you have two large inverters, I would expect to see a very large PV array and numerous chargers and a good sized battery bank. Also we need to know more about what voltages you are seeing on the batteries. Do you have any data logging? Do you have a battery status monitor. Tell us more!
Robin Gudgel

SolarMusher

Take a look first at your batteries specific gravity when your system shows 100% SOC, new flooded batteries could be sulfated with low SG if not equalized correctly at the begining. Also your generator may be a bit undersized for a dual 6Kw inverters system when charging according to your battery capacity and loads. As Robin said, tell us more.
Off Grid with 4kw PV | 2x Classic 200/WBjr | 2x Outback VFX3648 Epanel | 3x SPD300 + 1x Schneider HEPD80 | Hub + Mate + PSX-240 | Volthium 400Ah/51.2V LFP battery bank + Trimetric | 1500 watts AC water heater | Kubota 11kw GL diesel generator

zarathust