Need help with LiFePO4 battery bank set up

Started by LiFeP04_Only, May 19, 2015, 02:48:37 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

LiFeP04_Only

Hello, i'm a newb who wants a 48V 400AH battery bank that would be powered exclusively by 120V via a Honda inverter generator or simply by the 120V from my wall.  I would use 16 3.2V Calbs in series.  I do not want to cut any corners i want a top of the line inverter and battery charger. 

I am hoping to get some advice on battery care and monitoring, like how to do a BMS set up for it (I've never even heard of BMS till a few days ago).  When i see people selling complete packages they say 'Don't worry you can not over charge or over discharge because there are safety measures in place.'  How do they set up those safety measures?

I would like to buy all the bells & whistles that will allow me to set this system up like that.  As for some background I am not totally ignorant, i own a meter, i can test for voltages, and wire the batteries etc.  So i am totally cool with occasional maintenance (but please teach me what the maintenance would be lol).  However i don't want a system that would require ANY maintenance if there is a device that i can buy that would negate that maintenance!!  I love everything i read about LiFePO4s but i have zero experience with them, i want to really understand things before i buy a single piece of the system.  Thanks!

zoneblue

Those batteries arent particularly cheap, and also pretty easy to destroy. The usual advice that is often given is to learn on a smaller bank say 40Ah. Get a feel for top and bottom balancing, band cycling, cell level monitors, optional balance boards, LVD, HVD etc.

Also you dont say what your goal is. Always helps to know what your trying to achieve.
6x300W CSUN, ground mount, CL150Lite, 2V/400AhToyo AGM,  Outback VFX3024E, Steca Solarix PL1100
http://www.zoneblue.org/cms/page.php?view=off-grid-solar

LiFeP04_Only