News:

To visit MidNite Solar click this link www.midnitesolar.com

Main Menu

Web server for KID

Started by dgd, November 10, 2015, 02:29:53 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

dgd

I have been experimenting with this for a couple of months now between real life demands.
Its seems fairly straight forward to get an Arduino (mega2560 V3) with rs232 serial and ethernet/SD card connected to the KID then extract some running data values for simple web page displays and log reports.
Was also thinking about a modbus ethernet interface for the KID where an Arduino processes the KID serial data and provides a modbus stack that can be accessed via ethernet (and perhaps rs485/rs232)
I see from Arduino forums that others have hacked some existing modbus libs to achieve this with the goal to made a cheaper version of the Outback AXS box but perhaps limited to one OB device. This type of protocol inverter is just what the KID needs but i'm unsure how existing MN software such as the LocalApp interfaces to ethernet/modbus to identify devices it can extract data from or how the MyMN software extracts data it uses to identify Classics.

Before moving too far down this track I would be interested to know if MN are developing a web connecting device or even just a protocol converter for the KID?
I'm also assuming that MN will not release any info on localAPP/MyMN protocol interface to Classics/KIDS so having the localApp recognise a KID/Arduino modbus stack manager may be impractical.

I can (soon) post all the arduino code here for a complete simple KID web server if anyone is interested.

dgd
Classic 250, 150,  20 140w, 6 250w PVs, 2Kw turbine, MN ac Clipper, Epanel/MNdc, Trace SW3024E (1997), Century 1050Ah 24V FLA (1999). Arduino power monitoring and web server.  Off grid since 4/2000
West Auckland, New Zealand

ClassicCrazy

Dear Midnite ,
Please consider giving  DGD some of the  stuff he needs to know and use  so he can make some cool add on's for us to play with !