A beginner who so so confused .. help?

Started by SouthPacific, November 25, 2016, 06:32:26 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

SouthPacific

Hello everyone,

I am very new to solar/wind and trying to plan a proper system for my own needs.  This is for a total off-grid system to run a small house, but filled with lots of electricals.

I have been researching this for months on places like YouTube, these forums and other places.  I am now familiar with several basics, but have a very long way to go. 

My main problem is trying to figure out the best type of setup to meet all my needs, but a solid configuration continues to elude me.

I just purchased a Midnite Solar 6 string combiner and plan to split the load for two controllers.  I have CSUN 305 Poly panels (I bought a pallet, so have many, many extras I will not need, but got a nice price buy buying bulk).  I have 16 Trojan T105 RE's broken into two banks of 8 wired at 24 volts.  I am having a problem finding proper controllers to get, seeing many different ones on places like Amazon, but due to the high watt panels, I can't seem to find a proper controller, nor how many panels would be optimal for my needs.

I also have two 600 watt wind generators (one for each bank), mainly as back-up and for the night breezes to help keep the battery banks charged at all times.  On a side note, can I use this MidNite combiner box with the wind generators, coming off from the DC side on the wind controllers to feed the batteries?

I'm located just south of San Diego, CA, so have a really good amount of sun year around and temperatures extremely mild and constant year around, so weather is not a factor here.