Wiring for generator (manual start) to outback E-panel

Started by pat1498, February 17, 2018, 05:39:40 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

pat1498

I'd like to attach my manual start generator (champion 9000w) to my outback FX based system. I believe my panel is midnight MNE125STS. 

If I wire an AC outlet into the pre-cut space on the panel, I would end up needing a male  to male cord.  I'm new to this scale of residential solar systems (with AC inputs) but fairly certain that's a terrible idea.

Wiring a heavygauge extension cord directly into the panel's AC busses and leaving a hanging male cord (to plug into the generator) doesn't seem correct either.

What is the correct wiring solution here?

dbcollen

Quote from: pat1498 on February 17, 2018, 05:39:40 PM
I'd like to attach my manual start generator (champion 9000w) to my outback FX based system. I believe my panel is midnight MNE125STS. 

If I wire an AC outlet into the pre-cut space on the panel, I would end up needing a male  to male cord.  I'm new to this scale of residential solar systems (with AC inputs) but fairly certain that's a terrible idea.

Wiring a heavygauge extension cord directly into the panel's AC busses and leaving a hanging male cord (to plug into the generator) doesn't seem correct either.

What is the correct wiring solution here?

Wiring a heavy guage cord to the input breaker is the correct way.

pat1498

Thanks @dbcollen.

I was expecting to wire my stripped extension cord into the ac HOT-IN BUS, neutral bus and ground bus. 

This is what I see on page 17 expanded diagram, is that incorrect?
http://www.midnitesolar.com/pdfs/epanelManual.pdf

So, I also see that there is no nuetral/grnd bonding wire in the epanel AND the grnd wire from the house breaker box is going directly into the nuetral bus.  Maybe this explains why some household devices are shocking me. 

Should I add a nuetral/grnd bonding wire between those busses, or move the house breaker grnd to the grnd bus?

dbcollen