Author Topic: My MidNite Down?  (Read 1135 times)

smanners

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 51
Re: My MidNite Down?
« Reply #45 on: May 31, 2018, 06:12:18 PM »
Having a bit of experience in setting up online style services like this there are really only two ways to do it:

1. Do it well and ensure it is reliable.
2. Don’t do it at all so you do not tarnish a good product by providing a bad service.

Unfortunately point one quite often costs a lot of money not just to set up but to keep running and keep pace with growing demand. I don’t see a lot of good services like this last very long.

I hope midnite do point one but if they can’t bin it please. The local app by Graham is terrific. Maybe scrap the web front end reduce data storage and tie it in with the Android app for internet based access. Appreciate the effort though.

Resthome

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1092
Re: My MidNite Down?
« Reply #46 on: June 09, 2018, 10:44:57 AM »
I can connect to My Midnite but I am not seeing any data today. Any one else seeing this??
John

10 x Kyocera KC140, Classic 150 w/WBJr, Link10 Battery Monitor, 850 AH @ 12v Solar One 2v cells, Xantrex PROwatt SW2000
Off Grid on Houseboat Lake Don Pedro, CA

Doug

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 61
Re: My MidNite Down?
« Reply #47 on: June 09, 2018, 11:31:30 AM »
It seems to work after a refresh or two.

boB

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2709
Re: My MidNite Down?
« Reply #48 on: June 09, 2018, 02:50:09 PM »
We are working on getting more maintenance help for My MidNite...

Lots of stuff going on in there evidently.

Here is a portion of the ad for this...
boB

***********************************************

Needed: Full LAMP stack developer, less L&A and more M&P. Preferably with experience with Drupal 7 and Javascript.
We need someone to take some existing PHP and Javascript code within a custom Drupal 7 module and fix, tweak,
and augment. UX experience a big plus!

Skills:
- Drupal 7 module development
- PHP 5+
- MySQL / MariaSQL
- Javascript inc. jQuery & jQueryUI
- Basic Linux CLI and Apache configuration
- UX development experience a plus.

Please no NodeJs and nginx developers who just want to tell us we should have done it in NodeJs and nginx. We know.

K7IQ

Resthome

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1092
Re: My MidNite Down?
« Reply #49 on: June 10, 2018, 06:06:28 PM »
Hope you get someone who can get the bugs out My Midnite. This is the first time I have had a problem with it getting the data from my Classic. I've tried everything for the last two days including rebooting the Classic during the daytime and nothing has worked for me. I'm giving up for this weekend.  >:(
John

10 x Kyocera KC140, Classic 150 w/WBJr, Link10 Battery Monitor, 850 AH @ 12v Solar One 2v cells, Xantrex PROwatt SW2000
Off Grid on Houseboat Lake Don Pedro, CA

swede2

  • Newby
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: My MidNite Down?
« Reply #50 on: June 11, 2018, 06:28:36 PM »

Thanks for the discussion. It helps to know that others are having data refresh problems.  :-[

I'm having to query, 3 or 4 times, login out and then back in, before the data will come over but when it does, it is a glorious thing!
-------------------------------
I'm new to solar and to Midnite controllers. I was quite surprised to find that wi-fi connectivity was not built in to the unit (Classic 200V) but got over that mental hurdle and purchased an additional wi-fi bridge. It added to the whole system cost but was well worth it. 

My suggestion is to put the time and money into improving the whole "my midnite" service. If that means discontinuing the on-module support for the graphing or the wired Ethernet connection, so be it.

My preference would be either that or connecting in to a phone-based application, such as Blynk, that also allows full data downloads, as requested.

Just my two cents . . . 

krementz

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 49
Re: My MidNite Down?
« Reply #51 on: June 12, 2018, 08:10:49 AM »
Please KEEP the wired ethernet connection. Wifi is sometimes wonderful, and sometime unstable as hell, has penetration problems with metal and masonry construction, opens additional attack surfaces, and subject to interference.

I want rock solid stability for a critical infrastructure. Others may want wifi, that's fine, but I definitely would not use it if available. 
Way off grid
Old system: Outback 2524, 1200 W PV,  installed 2005, 384 amp hours
New System: 2 SMA 6048 with 2 Midnite Solar Classic 150 controllers, 5500 W PV, 1700 amp hours

Westbranch

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2624
  • Building System (sort of) 1 weekend at a time
Re: My MidNite Down?
« Reply #52 on: June 13, 2018, 01:52:00 AM »
Krementz.... +2 , I feel the same, wired  preferred to wifi onboard
KID FW1811 560W >C&D 24V 900Ah AGM
CL150 29032 V.2126-NW2097-GP2133 175A E-Panel WBjr, 3Px4s 140W > 24V 900Ah AGM,
2 Cisco WRT54GL i/c DD-WRT Rtr, NetGr DS104Hub Hughes 1100 Sat. Modem
Cotek ST1500 Inv  want a 24V  ROSIE Inverter
OmniCharge3024  Eu1/2/3000iGens
West Chilcotin 1680+W to come

Resthome

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1092
Re: My MidNite Down?
« Reply #53 on: June 14, 2018, 06:45:33 PM »
Well if we can believe past hints from a long time ago Midnite is suppose to be working on a Com box of some type that would have a built in Web Server of some type that you would connect to.
Have not heard anything more about since Ryan departed. Although I thought I heard Robin make a reference to a Com box a little while back.

Have no idea if it is real or just taking a back burner to all the other projects. Here's hoping its still in the works.
John

10 x Kyocera KC140, Classic 150 w/WBJr, Link10 Battery Monitor, 850 AH @ 12v Solar One 2v cells, Xantrex PROwatt SW2000
Off Grid on Houseboat Lake Don Pedro, CA

Westbranch

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2624
  • Building System (sort of) 1 weekend at a time
Re: My MidNite Down?
« Reply #54 on: June 14, 2018, 08:37:45 PM »
Hi John, now that you mention it,  I remember  a more recent short comment on the Com Box too....
Hope springs eternal...
 Have you noticed on this board, that when you sign in you start at the first post?
This started for me about a week or 2 ago.  I use Firefox 60.0.2 (64 bit) I think it was released June 6/18  .... I remember the 'loading  updates ' message recently... could be a bug in the script..
KID FW1811 560W >C&D 24V 900Ah AGM
CL150 29032 V.2126-NW2097-GP2133 175A E-Panel WBjr, 3Px4s 140W > 24V 900Ah AGM,
2 Cisco WRT54GL i/c DD-WRT Rtr, NetGr DS104Hub Hughes 1100 Sat. Modem
Cotek ST1500 Inv  want a 24V  ROSIE Inverter
OmniCharge3024  Eu1/2/3000iGens
West Chilcotin 1680+W to come