Two controllers on the same array to the same battery pack?

Started by CountryFit, April 29, 2018, 08:18:43 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

CountryFit

Howdy, noob here.  I did search but couldn't find the answers to my question so I am asking... Sorry if this has been asked.

I have 2750w panels on my motorhome.  They are on two arrays - a 750w and a 2000w.  The issue is on this 2000w.

It is connected to a Midnite Classic 150 charging 1200ah lithium battery pack.  By this time of year, April, I have already seen the output on the controller hitting the ceiling of 96A.  I understand I have excessive solar power and in need of a 120-150A controller but none exists out there.

Another possible solution is splitting up the array.  To do so I would need another set of wires from combiner box on the roof to the controller in battery bay.  Doing that is quite a PITA.  I consider that to be the last resort.

Now the question - Is there a way to share the same input current from the panels to charge the same battery with 2 controllers (one master another slave)?  I googled but there have not been many people touched the topic.  One or two said no, but no convincing reasoning about why.  So, I am asking experts here - is it doable?

If not, what other options are?   Really appreciate your info!!

ClassicCrazy

What voltage is your battery pack ?
Is it possible to reconfigure  your battery pack to a higher voltage ?  You would increase the amount of watts that the Classic could handle that way and if you needed to drop the voltage for devices you can get a DC to DC converter.

The other option if you were thinking of a second controller is to get another Classic and you can use that in Follow me mode with the other Classic.  That does work something like master and slave but not exactly  -- there are discussions on the forum if you look up Follow Me.

Hard to give advice with no idea what  your present wiring is now.

Larry

system 1