Classing won't wake up from resting (Classic has and will take no Firmware)

Started by santanaaviles, June 24, 2018, 01:54:23 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

santanaaviles

Go0d Day

I'm new to Midnite charge controllers, use to have Outback but changed over yesterday since I really wanted the Whizbang Jr. The Issue I'm having is that at noon with full sun out My Classic 150 went to resting. Checked the RFR at it was 36. Did the Hardware VMM and it changed to RFR 22 since the controller defaulted to 12V when my bank is 48v. Did a Software VMM and it is still resting, RFR is just 111. Input voltage is between 65 and 66. Any advice on how to get the Classic to wake up? Thanks in advance.

Vic

Hello santa..,  Welcome to the Fourm.

With the Classis Resting,  that input voltage reading of approximately  65 - 66 V,   is the PV array's Voc.

That PV voltage is too low,   for almost any 48 V  battery type.   Perhaps you are running strings of two 60-cell PVs ?

It is possible that you could harvest some power,   by changing the Classic's Mode,  to  Legacy P & O.   But,   IMO,   you really need a higher PV input voltage.

If you are seeing the noted input voltage to the Classic,   in FULL SUN,   with NO Shading of the PVs,   perhaps your PVs might need to be configured for a higher string voltage.

Here is a Link to the Classic String Sizer:
http://midnitesolar.com/sizingTool/displaySizing.php

You could tell us the string configuration of your PVs,   brand and model number for them,   and your battery type,   etc.

More later,   thanks for some added info.   Vic
Off Grid - Sys 1: 2ea SW+ 5548, Surrette 4KS25 1280 AH, 5.25 KW PV, Classic 150,WB, Beta Barcelona, Beta KID
Sys 2: SW+ 5548s, 4KS25s, 5.88 KW PV, 2 ea. Classic 150, WB, HB CC-needs remote Monitoring/Control, site=remote.
 MN Bkrs/Bxs/Combiners. Thanks MN for Great Products/Svc/Support&This Forum!!

santanaaviles

Vic