Voltage drop, low charge power

Started by Jose Miranda, September 04, 2018, 10:10:30 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Jose Miranda

I am a complete beginner. And this is my first post here. I bought a pre-wired Midnite 150+Schneider 4048 combo. I already have the batteries and panels connected to it. I noticed that when the charger is not charging (I turn off the charging) the input voltage is higher than 100 volts (it was overcast). When I turn the charging on the voltage goes down to around 50 to 60 volts and the charging power is around 80 watts... That doesn't sound right to me. Maybe I am wrong. Is this the controller lowering the voltage in order to not overload the batteries? There is currently no load on the inverter (waiting for the electrician to come). The inverter is reporting the batteries are about 75% full, voltage around 50V. The inverter is currently set to 377 Ah battery capacity.
Jose

Classic 150, Schneider SW4048, Combox, Raspberry Pi 4.

ClassicCrazy

When you say you turn off the charging does that mean  you shut off the breaker for the solar panels ? 

It is kind of hard to tell what is going on when you don't have any loads on the system.

The other info needed to know what is going on is you need to read the MNGP display and see what state of charge it is in when you are charging and also when you shut off the solar.
You also need to tell us what the charging parameters are set for - Absorb Voltage Absorb Time  Float , etc.

Since you don't have any load on your system the batteries are probably in Float .  The inverter on will be something of a load - though depending on how that is programmed it could be drawing very little current and sleeping waiting for a load.