Classic 150

Started by W9KJO, September 06, 2018, 12:17:27 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

W9KJO

I am new to Solar Power

I have 4.8kw of panels and a Classic 150 MPPT

I have 515 AH 48 VDC forklift batteries.

Does someone know the set points I should use for such batteries.  I called the place I purchased the batteries and apparently thier forlift chargers work differently and they could not seem to give me advice.

I'll keep working on this till I find a good answer.

The batteries are Drake 12-85-13 24 volt two set in serise for 48 VDC

Thanks for any help that can be given.

Walter

Vic

Hi Walter,   Welcome to the Forum.

Generally,   Fork lift batteries use electrolyte with Specific Gravity (SG),  of about 1.285.

So,  I would start with an Absorb voltage of about 60.0 - 60.5 V.   And an EQ voltage of about 62 V.   Float voltage,   of about 54 V, for starters.

Absorb time really depends upon the Depth Of Discharge (DOD) that the battery experienced in the previous discharge.   For nominal DOD,  would start at about 2 hours,   or so.

If you have the accessory battery charge current monitor device  --  the WhizBang Jr  --  then there can be an End Amp (EA) setting that can adjust the Absorb time based on the charge current into the battery.

Until your batteries have been cycled as many as about 50-cycles,  would suggest using Timed Absorb.

You will want a good, glass Hydrometer to measure the State Of Charge (SOC)  of the batteries,   and record these in your battery Log Book.   Letter/number cells of each battery and mark with some permanent marking for future reference.

More later,   73  ES  GL with the new batter bank,    Vic
Off Grid - Sys 1: 2ea SW+ 5548, Surrette 4KS25 1280 AH, 5.25 KW PV, Classic 150,WB, Beta Barcelona, Beta KID
Sys 2: SW+ 5548s, 4KS25s, 5.88 KW PV, 2 ea. Classic 150, WB, HB CC-needs remote Monitoring/Control, site=remote.
 MN Bkrs/Bxs/Combiners. Thanks MN for Great Products/Svc/Support&This Forum!!

ClassicCrazy