First time planning for emergency power using 72V EV battery pack

Started by MJSfoto1956, February 21, 2019, 02:16:31 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

MJSfoto1956

Newbie here.

I have an electric motorcycle with a 72V 5kWh lithium battery pack that I want to use as emergency backup power.

The plan is to install 1000W of solar panels and have them tied to the grid only during "normal use". The idea is that the panels are primarily for emergency only, but might as well tie them to the grid and get a small reduction in our electricity during the interim.

When an emergency hits, I would manually plug the eMotorcycle (from outside the house of course) into the MPPT charge controller which would then power a subpanel for select 115V circuits. The goal being the panels + battery would last 7 days or more of limited power to the house.

In a later phase, I would retire the eMotorcycle battery once it gets worn out, using it in the house as a power bank, eventually adding more 72V packs in parallel as I use them up for my EV projects.

Attached is a high-level concept drawing. Not sure what parts might be involved here. Any help appreciated.

Michael

ClassicCrazy

Your concept does not look right .
A grid tie inverter has the PV go directly into it and then it syncs with the grid and pushes power into it. If the power goes off then the grid tie inverter shuts off.