Turbine, Classic, Clipper and Diversion ?s

Started by wbuffetjr1, March 13, 2019, 01:04:13 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

wbuffetjr1

Moving this post here from the clipper section. This section obviously gets much more attention.

Hey folks

My site is at 10,000' in the mountains in Colorado. We get some really good wind. I have an off grid solar system in place now. 48V battery bank, Classic 200, Magnum 4448PAE inverter. This Summer I will be adding an Axial Flux turbine to the mix (15 coils, 70 turns each coil, 8.2' blade set, ~40' tower). The turbine can be setup for 24V, 48V or 64V. Trying to decide whether to run it at 48V or 64V. Any advice?

I am not an expert at this stuff. Still learning tons. I am having a hard time wrapping my brain around which classic to run the turbine with. I already own a brand new Classic 250 that I would like to use to save some money. Planning on purchasing the Midnite 4,000 watt AC clipper. Does anyone see any issues with this setup? Would the classic 200 be a better fit? I want to have plenty of headroom but I will probably set the clipper and classic up pretty conservatively. It is a remote site and long periods without someone there. I would like the turbine and electronics to have a long healthy life. This ties back to my first question. Hard for me to nail down the best combination of stator voltage and classic sizing.