kid to battery question

Started by Kommy, April 12, 2020, 09:47:20 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Kommy

Hi, I'm new at this and in a process of installing solar panel run with kid mppt marine version.
Seems pretty straightforward but I'm starting to doubt myself.
I'm planning for now to use kid mppt to charge a house bank of 2 batteries in parallel connections 12v system.
Of course I'm reading all the information on internet and starting to question the distance from mppt to battery.
I know you should mount mppt as close as possible but the closest I can do is about 9 feet of wire distance from mppt to a battery bank.
From what I can see, it is a 10 gauge wire from mppt to batteries. When I use calculators online, it's showing potential voltage drop of 5%. Is that normal, or is charge controller aware of this voltage drop? Anything I can do about it?
I know if I had higher voltage bank, it would not be an issue but this is your normal sailboat 12v deep cycle system.
Eventually I will be taking out diesel engine and putting in electric motor and installing 48v battery bank, so at that point I will rewire mppt for 48v bank but for now I have to stick with existing setup.
Again, I can't place it any closer to battery bank since it is hidden in a tight space and 9ft of distance is the best I can do, though in a perfect world I would place it even further with the rest of my dc/ac panels but that would be close to 12' distance.
Please let me know if I'm over thinking this and if these distances are ok.
Thank you

ClassicCrazy

9 feet isn't so bad a distance.
You can just go with a larger diameter cable like 8 or 6 gauge.
I don't remember on the Kid what the largest size wire it will accept. Since it has a 40 amp fuse in it I think it must be at least 8 gauge and may take 6 no problem.
This is for 12 feet of 8 gauge  on southwire volt drop calculator
Amps Rated ampacity of selected conductor
Ohms Resistance (Ohms per 1000 feet)
Ohms Reactance (Ohms per 1000 feet)