300 AMP breaker for mid nite e-panel?

Started by ebenbayer, April 14, 2020, 12:04:06 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ebenbayer

Are there any 300 AMP dc panel breakers available? I have a 250 Amp that is tripping on occasion (I'm using a DIY TSLA power wall, and lots of morning sun at 42 volts can trip the bank)
Offgrid;
25KW solar array
MicroHydro @ 150 ft of head w/ adaptive water sensing.
2000 AH 48 V ( Tesla Model S Battery packs in 2s1p format)
240 Gal integrated DHW / pressurized thermal storage

billmill

Hmmm,  Im just a newbie but it sounds like something is not wired correctly.  Post some closeup picts or diagrams of your system.  I cant imagine how a 250 amp break would trip like that?

ebenbayer

Yea, its tripping because its getting close 250 amps for medium periods of time and exceeding 250 in bursts. So it is working correctly. I'm just having trouble locating a larger amperage breaker.
Offgrid;
25KW solar array

Vic

Carling lists a 300 Amp F-Frame breaker.   May not be a standard,   stocking item,   and will NOT  be inexpensive (as are the MN Breakers):

https://www.carlingtech.com/sites/default/files/documents/F-Series_Details_%26_COS_010714.pdf

Check that the connections of the cables to the breaker are tight.   You might use an IR thermometer to check the connections/lugs.

Furthermore,   technically the cables that connect to the breaker may not be able to handle 300 Amps,   although inside the e-panel,   this may be considered to be in Free Air  ….   am notta code wizard.

FWIW,   Vic
Off Grid - Sys 1: 2ea SW+ 5548, Surrette 4KS25 1280 AH, 5.25 KW PV, Classic 150,WB, Beta Barcelona, Beta KID
Sys 2: SW+ 5548s, 4KS25s, 5.88 KW PV, 2 ea. Classic 150, WB, HB CC-needs remote Monitoring/Control, site=remote.
 MN Bkrs/Bxs/Combiners. Thanks MN for Great Products/Svc/Support&This Forum!!

FNG

are you drawing more than 250 amps to power the house or charging at greater than 250 amps?