Newbie with questions

Started by Twolf3820, August 31, 2020, 01:28:07 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Twolf3820

I am a newbie to utilizing the functions of the Classic Midnite Solar charge controller. First hzving issues connecting the CC to my LAN thru a Netgear access POINT? Is a cross over ethernet cable needed? Will the CC be able to supply a user name and password? Or how does it access the network?  Next, my CC is on old software, about 5 years old, can I update it thru the midnite ethernet connection once I get that working?

boB

Hi Twolf.

Sounds like you are connecting the Classic up correctly.

The Classic can have two Ethernet connections....   One is MODBUS  (protocol) over TCP/IP  and the other is to call into our server, My Midnite...

For the MODBUS part, you can supply your own software or you can download our "Local App" software which should find the Classic if it is on your local LAN.

To get the Local App to work outside, you will have to port forward port 502  (typically).

There is a NETWORK  menu where you can choose DHCP addressing.  I would start with that first and see if the Local App finds the Classic from a laptop of some other computer on your LAN.

K7IQ 🌛  He/She/Me

ClassicCrazy

you update Classic firmware via usb cable directly to Classic.
Go to the Midnite webpage under software to find firmware and directions.
there are also videos available on how to do it - though there is newer update software that took care of most of the problems associated with update software of the past . So just use what is provided on Midnite website.
After firmware up date you will want to use Midnite Local Status app on your computer . It should find the Classic on your network once you plug Classic in . Again there are instructions and videos available online.
No to crossover cables - only use regular cables.
The Local Status app will give you control to all your Classic settings.