LifePo4 Charging

Started by steven_ucf, November 03, 2020, 09:28:11 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

steven_ucf

Hello,

I have been trying to figure out what settings i should use for these batteries; i have two of them for 24volts.
https://bigbattery.com/product/24v-a123-lfp-battery-box-w-bms-free-shipping/

I called big battery and they said:

Turn off equalization
turn off absorb; or set it as short of time as possible
float at 26.6 - 27.6v

Do these settings seem correct?  That it should go directly to float?

Also, they said set the Bottom at 22V and the Top at 29.2 (I don't know exactly what this means; except probably that the charger should stop at 29.2 and kick on at 22V) - How do i set this on the classic 150?  I don't see any setting that lets me set the bottom and top voltages?

Sorry total newbie here - but i am learning slowly:(

ClassicCrazy

They might mean setting your minimum and maximum voltages on the Classic which you can do but it doesn't relate to starting and stopping charging.
Only the absorb voltage, absorb time,  ending amps, float controls how the Classic charges.
A lot of it depends on the BMS that is used on the battery.
You probably want to find out if you need to set maximum charging amps on classic.
just took quick look at your link - 130 amps max charging so you should be okay
Lithiums take awhile to learn all the ins and outs with them.  They just are not so forgiving to abuses like lead acid .
Go to first page of the forums and do search for lithiums to read all the past discussions on here . There are lots of thoughts - some better than others.