New to solar. Help with 24V design.

Started by TheChrisP1, March 27, 2021, 04:01:42 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

TheChrisP1

First off thanks for reading and trying to help!

I'm new to solar and trying to learn everything I can. I plan to build a 24V system as a emergency backup (later to be moved to the boat).

Currently I have a MidNite KID (I bought the kit), (2) 195W solar panels and a 3000W Pure Sine Wave inverter. I have a couple of bus bars, 12 Circ. fuse box, a DC to DC converter (24v to 12v) and the breakers sent with the kit.

1. Do I need anything else?
2. How can I determine the correct breakers and fuses to protect my system?
3. Is there a good source of diagrams?

Thank you very much!

ClassicCrazy

The Kid Manual has some good diagrams for panel wiring.
And there is Midnite string sizing tool online that you can plug the specs for your panels into and it will calculate voltage and current levels .
AltE has some good beginners videos on youtube.

The things to consider when wiring up the system is that you use the right breaker or fuse for the wire size.
There are online wire loss calculators so that you know if you are going far with wire what gauge you will need to use so you don't loose power in the wire.
You can use a smaller breaker than wire rating but you can't use a larger one.
For example  - if you were using 12 gauge wire the maximum breaker would be 20 amps. But you could also use a 15 amp if you wanted to ( if  your power was less than 15 amps) .

I think the Kid has 40 amp fuses in it so minimum wire size to and from it would be 10 gauge but you could use larger wire for less voltage drop.

You didn't mention batteries - that is a whole different subject on how to best arrange and use those but depends on battery type.

You will need very large gauge wire and breaker between your batteries and inverter.  You inverter manual should make some recommendations for proper breaker and wire sizes to use.