Author Topic: KID Blade fuse replacement  (Read 609 times)

philipbasehart

  • Newby
  • *
  • Posts: 1
KID Blade fuse replacement
« on: September 25, 2021, 05:18:14 PM »
What are the proper size blade fuses for the KID?

Vic

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2676
Re: KID Blade fuse replacement
« Reply #1 on: September 25, 2021, 06:57:07 PM »
Hi Phillip..,  Welcome to the Forum.

Found this in one of the KID manuals:

"Type ATC   32V  30 Amps Max"

Also on the MidNite Solar site,  there is a reference to Plug-in Breakers:
http://www.midnitesolar.com/pdfs/D_1610_ENG.pdf

Do not know if current generation KIDs ship with one/some of the above breakers.

FWIW,   Vic
Off Grid - Two systems -- 4 SW+ 5548s, Surrette 4KS25 1280 AH X2@48V, 11.1 KW STC PV, 3X MidNite Classic 150 w/ WBjrs, Beta KID on S-530s, MX-60s, MN Bkrs/Boxes.  Thanks MN for Great Products/Service/Support!

ClassicCrazy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3278
Re: KID Blade fuse replacement
« Reply #2 on: September 25, 2021, 09:30:56 PM »
Hi Phillip..,  Welcome to the Forum.

Found this in one of the KID manuals:

"Type ATC   32V  30 Amps Max"

Also on the MidNite Solar site,  there is a reference to Plug-in Breakers:
http://www.midnitesolar.com/pdfs/D_1610_ENG.pdf

Do not know if current generation KIDs ship with one/some of the above breakers.

FWIW,   Vic
why am I thinking that they have 40 amp fuses in them ? Now I will have to go look . Yes mine has 40 amp fuses in it.
Mine was one of the original beta Kids but seems to me I sent it back in for repair sometime and it came back with a new and improved inside board.
And the 40 amp fuses .

Larry
system one
Classic 150 , 5s4p  Kyocera 135watt , 12s Soneil 2v 540amp lead crystal for 24v pack , Outback 3524 inverter
system two
Classic 150 ,5s 135 watt Kyocero , Jakiper 48v LiFePO4 , Outback VFX 3648 inverter
system three
Midnite KID MPPT 24 DC in to  12 volt AGM batteries

Vic

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2676
Re: KID Blade fuse replacement
« Reply #3 on: September 26, 2021, 03:21:29 PM »
Hi Larry,

My KID is also a Beta unit,  and all original.

It came with,  and still uses (the original) 30 A fuses,  in all three positions.

Did not take the time to look at all of the KID Documents listings.

You are probably correct about newer KIDs using 40 A fuses,  at least at certain locations   ...

Did Search 'Kid',  and 'KID fuses' nothing jumped out noting 40A fuses,  but did not read every Post for each search hit.

Am sure that someone will chime-in with the absolute bottom line.   73,  Thanks,  Vic
Off Grid - Two systems -- 4 SW+ 5548s, Surrette 4KS25 1280 AH X2@48V, 11.1 KW STC PV, 3X MidNite Classic 150 w/ WBjrs, Beta KID on S-530s, MX-60s, MN Bkrs/Boxes.  Thanks MN for Great Products/Service/Support!

ClassicCrazy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3278
Re: KID Blade fuse replacement
« Reply #4 on: September 26, 2021, 08:42:55 PM »
My Kid has a 15 amp fuse in the Clipper fuse port . Pretty sure I never messed with it but who knows - can't remember everything in life !

Larry
system one
Classic 150 , 5s4p  Kyocera 135watt , 12s Soneil 2v 540amp lead crystal for 24v pack , Outback 3524 inverter
system two
Classic 150 ,5s 135 watt Kyocero , Jakiper 48v LiFePO4 , Outback VFX 3648 inverter
system three
Midnite KID MPPT 24 DC in to  12 volt AGM batteries

boB

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3906
Re: KID Blade fuse replacement
« Reply #5 on: September 26, 2021, 10:43:17 PM »

I seem to remember that we added a 40 amp internal fuse as well as the replaceable fuses but I can't really remember.

We may have opted to not use that safety fuse ?

K7IQ 🌛  He/She/It

Steve_S

  • Guest
Re: KID Blade fuse replacement
« Reply #6 on: September 28, 2021, 05:24:15 AM »
HEADS UP ALERT !

Not All Fuses are the same, many Imported offshore fuses are JUNK and problems are occurring.  PLEASE stick to Known Good Quality Brand fuses from Bussman/Eaton (BlueSea uses them exclusively).

A Good Recent Article on Fuses:
https://www.galvinpower.org/best-fuses/


Highflyer

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 225
Re: KID Blade fuse replacement
« Reply #7 on: September 28, 2021, 08:57:48 PM »
The Kid uses 30 amp fuses.

« Last Edit: September 28, 2021, 08:59:23 PM by Highflyer »
Brian

The one thing is the one thing