Classic 150 "input amps"

Started by ljane, January 20, 2022, 06:52:14 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ljane

Hi there,

I have a question. I have:

-nine 300W, 48V panels
    -Classic 150 CC -- without Whizbang Jr
    -three SimpliPhi 3.8 batteries (225Ah total)

It's all off grid (though I can plug into shore power to charge the batteries if necessary.)

I acquired this setup when I bought my house, so I don't know whether the CC and inverter settings were ever correct, but I recently realized many of them were off, so I've been working with the battery manufacturer to get things updated. The battery manufacturer says the CC setting for "input amps" should be "based on input charging source." I called Midnite Solar to ask for advice on this (I'm a real novice) and was told that the setting didn't matter. It's currently set to 42, so I asked whether that was an okay setting and was told yes but the rep would not explain why that was okay, or why the setting doesn't matter.

Can anyone explain this to me? Thanks!-Laura
9 SolarWorld SW300 MONO 48V 300W panels
Midnite Solar Classic 150 CC (no WB Jr)
Schneider Electric SW4048 inverter/charger
3 SimpliPhi 3.8 (legacy model) 48V LiFePO4 batteries

off-grid unless I plug into shore power

I'm a n00b...please be gentle!

ClassicCrazy

Quote from: ljane on January 20, 2022, 06:52:14 PM
Hi there,

I have a question. I have:

-nine 300W, 48V panels
    -Classic 150 CC -- without Whizbang Jr
    -three SimpliPhi 3.8 batteries (225Ah total)

It's all off grid (though I can plug into shore power to charge the batteries if necessary.)