questions on the settings for a classic 200

Started by exiledoracle, June 02, 2022, 12:18:30 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

exiledoracle

Greetings, I am a novice at solar but learning.

I have recently changed my batteries from FLA to VRLA (Renogy AGM 12v 200Ah)
I have 8 batteries set up into two 48v banks (400Ah)
The spec from Renogy say that the 'cycle use voltage' is between 14.4v - 14.8v.
Is this the absorb voltage? Should i set the absorb to 58.4v? Seems kind of high
The default on the classic is 57.2v. this is what I have it set to now, and it works
But, I was wanting to maximize the efficiency, and it seems slow to charge
Also, should the absorb be set the same as the EQ? The Renogy EQ spec is 56.8v

I already have the float setting good at 54.8v (13.6v - 13.8v Renogy spec)

I appreciate any help!

Derek

ClassicCrazy

Quote from: exiledoracle on June 02, 2022, 12:18:30 AM
Greetings, I am a novice at solar but learning.

I have recently changed my batteries from FLA to VRLA (Renogy AGM 12v 200Ah)
I have 8 batteries set up into two 48v banks (400Ah)
The spec from Renogy say that the 'cycle use voltage' is between 14.4v - 14.8v.
Is this the absorb voltage? Should i set the absorb to 58.4v? Seems kind of high
The default on the classic is 57.2v. this is what I have it set to now, and it works
But, I was wanting to maximize the efficiency, and it seems slow to charge
Also, should the absorb be set the same as the EQ? The Renogy EQ spec is 56.8v

I already have the float setting good at 54.8v (13.6v - 13.8v Renogy spec)

I appreciate any help!

Derek

Yes that would be the absorb voltage 14.4 to 14.8  ( x 4) = 57.6v 
Start with the low end of range for new batteries and adjust for age or other conditions as needed.
You don't normally equalize AGM batteries so I always disable that - but set it for the Absorb setpoints just in case it ever gets turned on by accident.