new system I need to up efficency

Started by jim k., November 02, 2012, 04:02:33 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

jim k.

I've just built a new system here in the coast range in Oregon, sumertime isn't a problem but now with the fall and winter with fog, clouds and rain today with overcast I'm getting 4.2 amps to my charge controller. This is what I've got.

On a wooden frame work at a 45 degree angle facing directly south there are 7 grape solar 235 watt by 7.8 amp panels, going thru two runs of #6 copper75 feet to a disconnect then to a morningstar tristar 60 charge controller to two rolls s 530 batteries, I don't have any intention of having anything but a backup power system, no grid tie, would adding more panels or a different charge controller or maybe moving everthing right at the panel location be the answer, I'm a farmer with a wife who is starting to look sideways whenI talk about buying more stuff.

Vic

Hi jim k,

In this exact situation,  if you had twice the number of PVs,  you would expect to have almost exactly twice the power that you noted,   assuming that there no shadows on the current array that you have.

Assuming that the present array has no shadowingf except early and late in the day,   moving or reorienting the array that you have may make some small differences.  Perhaps changing the tilt angle of the array could make a small difference,  but Nov,  Dec,  Jan and Feb are usually poor production months,  due to low sun elevation/short days,  cloudy,  stormy days and so on.

You will need to monitor the State Of Charge of the batteries,  and have an additional charger available  if there are too many dark days in a row.  Hope that you have and are using a Hydrometer to measure the SOC.

http://www.nrel.gov/rredc/pvwatts/grid.html
It is often surprising just how little PV arrays produce when there is significant overcast.  Our eyes,  and brain tend to mislead us on just how much solar energy is available with cloudy skies.