Author Topic: 156 amp 600 volt switch  (Read 3836 times)

Halfcrazy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2386
156 amp 600 volt switch
« on: December 19, 2012, 01:09:47 PM »
A 156 amp 600 volt switch, it has a 24 volt shunt trip coil and a NO/NC limit switch and is non UL listed. It is the frame size of our 125 amp breaker 1 inch wide frame. We have around 50 of these and want $10 each. all sales are final and the merchandise is in good working order unless otherwise stated.

Please Email garagesale@midnitesolar.com for more info or for a call back to purchase these.

Ryan
« Last Edit: February 07, 2015, 02:36:03 PM by Halfcrazy »
Changing the way wind turbines operate one smoke filled box at a time

Halfcrazy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2386
Re: 156 amp 600 volt switch
« Reply #1 on: December 19, 2012, 03:18:24 PM »
They are each 150 volts so 4 in series gives us the 600 volts. You could remove the jumpers and use it for a 4 pole 156 amp 150 volt switch. The uses? Not sure what one would use it for. We purchased them with the intent of making a 150 amp 600 volt dc disconnect but mothballed the project.

Ryan
Changing the way wind turbines operate one smoke filled box at a time

TomW

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1415
  • Nullius in Verba
Re: 156 amp 600 volt switch
« Reply #2 on: December 19, 2012, 03:29:58 PM »
Shorting switch for a very large 3 phase turbine is one thought...

Hate to think the retail on the thing if you had to buy one.

Tom
Do NOT mistake me for any kind of "expert".

( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)


24 Trina 310 watt modules, SMA SunnyBoy 7.7 KW Grid Tie inverter.

I thought that they were angels, but much to my surprise, We climbed aboard their starship and headed for the skies

Robin

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 503
Re: 156 amp 600 volt switch
« Reply #3 on: December 20, 2012, 01:56:54 AM »
These switches were the first attempt at making our disconnecting combiners. Carling decided to make the CX breaker and switch instead of using their E series breakers. We had the choice of spending money with ETL to get this switch listed for use in our combiners, but since the CX came into being, it was cheaper to use the listed CX switches rather than to spend many thousands of dollars getting these E series switches listed. They are all brand new, but we scrapped all the prototpe metalwork that fit them.
Robin Gudgel

tecnodave

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 615
  • Learn something new every day
Re: 156 amp 600 volt switch
« Reply #4 on: May 21, 2016, 12:50:38 AM »
I bought a box of these switches. They are very robust! I removed the factory series links and made copper plate buss bars and converted them to parallel 624 amp 150 volt DC switches.
I have a remotely operated battery shutdown on each large bank.  I pulse a short 20 volt pulse to shut down in emergency. Voltage drop is much lower than breaker.  They are internally ganged so you can't make 4 switches out of them.  One is installed on a clients electric forklift to prevent battery rundown.

Dave
#1 Classic 150 12 x Sharp NE-170, 2S6P, 24volt L-16 Rolls-Surette S-530, MS4024 & Cotek ,  C-40 dirv.cont. for hot water
#2 Classic 150 12 x Sharp NE-170, 2S6P, 24 volt L-16 Interstate,Brutus Inv.
#3 Kid/WBjr 2 Suntech 280 24v AGM 105 a.h. Exeltech Inv.
#4 Kid/WBjr 2 Suntech 280 12v AGM 105 a.h.

BioPower

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 52
  • Off the grid and on the cloud.
Re: 156 amp 600 volt switch
« Reply #5 on: May 21, 2016, 02:40:03 AM »
I have some on the way to me, I was hoping the pin through the switch levers could be removed by taking the E clip off and completely separating them.

tecnodave

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 615
  • Learn something new every day
Re: 156 amp 600 volt switch
« Reply #6 on: May 21, 2016, 08:23:32 AM »
I'm guilty of trying that.....didn't work...they are internally tripped....removing pins will make it near impossible to reset.

These are not in carling's book they were custom made for midnite and Carling won't give you specs on exact configuration.

Things I gleaned from Carling's literature:

They are relay trip....not shunt trip.....a short pulse of power applied to the trip coil is required to trip unit off , 18 volts for less than 100 ms.  Continuous power will burn out trip coil.  Same as the remote trip MNEDC125RT breaker that is used with the birdhouse.  The side switch is no/nc contacts and can be used for remote indication of switch position.
Marked line in and line out.....but not polarity sensitive....don't know the reason for the in and out designation

Dave
« Last Edit: May 21, 2016, 08:35:36 AM by tecnodave »
#1 Classic 150 12 x Sharp NE-170, 2S6P, 24volt L-16 Rolls-Surette S-530, MS4024 & Cotek ,  C-40 dirv.cont. for hot water
#2 Classic 150 12 x Sharp NE-170, 2S6P, 24 volt L-16 Interstate,Brutus Inv.
#3 Kid/WBjr 2 Suntech 280 24v AGM 105 a.h. Exeltech Inv.
#4 Kid/WBjr 2 Suntech 280 12v AGM 105 a.h.

Vic

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1746
Re: 156 amp 600 volt switch
« Reply #7 on: May 21, 2016, 04:52:11 PM »
   ...

Marked line in and line out.....but not polarity sensitive....don't know the reason for the in and out designation
Dave

Hi Dave,

I have read that for non-polarized breakers the Line & Load designations are often kept,  as experienced Electricians are used to looking for such markings,  and their absence will cause many pesky questions.

AND,  most often,  breakers that are not polarity sensitive have no such marking on the breaker,   itself.   Although,  would seem that having NO Line/Load marking  could identify a breaker that is not polarity sensitive.

FWIW,   Vic
Off Grid - Two systems -- 4 SW+ 5548s, Surrette 4KS25 1280 AH X2@48V, 11.1 KW STC PV, 3X MidNite Classic 150 w/ WBjrs, Beta KID on S-530s, MX-60s, MN Bkrs/Boxes.  Thanks MN for Great Products/Service/Support!

tecnodave

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 615
  • Learn something new every day
Re: 156 amp 600 volt switch
« Reply #8 on: May 23, 2016, 12:54:47 AM »
Vic,

I did puzzle at the markings....Carling is labeling the upper stud as line in but MidNite epanels all use the lower stud for line in....it is tradition in the industry that the top is line in for most industrial applications but it's not a hard rule. It trust the crew at MidNite to do it right.  I did download full line docs from Carling on the lines that I use.....A,B,C,E & F,  And all are not polarity sensitive...according to Carling..the A line is bat handle toggles,DC and  the B line is much like the C line (MNDC) but lower voltage....marine.   Really good product line by a good company. Used Carling for a long time.

Dave
#1 Classic 150 12 x Sharp NE-170, 2S6P, 24volt L-16 Rolls-Surette S-530, MS4024 & Cotek ,  C-40 dirv.cont. for hot water
#2 Classic 150 12 x Sharp NE-170, 2S6P, 24 volt L-16 Interstate,Brutus Inv.
#3 Kid/WBjr 2 Suntech 280 24v AGM 105 a.h. Exeltech Inv.
#4 Kid/WBjr 2 Suntech 280 12v AGM 105 a.h.

Halfcrazy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2386
Re: 156 amp 600 volt switch
« Reply #9 on: May 23, 2016, 05:39:51 AM »
What I was told by carling is the line and load are not for DC. Carling breakers are not polarity sensitive on DC
Changing the way wind turbines operate one smoke filled box at a time