Charging issues... low SG

Started by Rngr275, November 16, 2012, 06:37:37 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Rngr275

There was no initial SG measurements taken when the system came on line. Initial Voltage set points for the 2 Classic 200's seemed a little off so adjustments were made to what Trojan recommends. (16 L16RE's 370AH each, 740AH battery bank). Current settings of the charge controller are 62V EQ, 59.2 ABS, 52.8 Float. RAised the times from .5hrs minimum to 2 hours and raised the 2hr maximum to 4 hours. My first SG measurements a month ago were in the 1.250 range even though the FNDC said the bank was at~99%, the voltage readings on both the FNDC and Classic were at ~50.9V (which is what it should be) but the SG is low @ 1.250 (Trojan 100% SG is 1.277). This a brand new temp compensated Hydrometer purchased from this sight. I am a Chemical Technician so I feel I am using the correct protocol to do the measurements. Trojan has told me it takes a number of cycles to get batteries to its full potential. Here is what has been don in the last month and my measurements/observations.

3wks or so ago batteries were in float when I got home so I did my first EQ, unfortunately I could only do it for ~2hrs. SG went from 1.250 range up to the 1.261 range when I had to quit.

Had some good sunny days and bad ones after a couple good sunny days, battery voltage (FNDC, and Classic) was ~50.8, I measured the SG and again the SG was in the 1.250-1.255 range.

Installer suggested letting the batteries get a little lower (never been below 49.9 volts/90%SOC on FNDC). Hurricane Sandy comes and I let batteries go down to ~ 49.4 V and FNDC reads 83%. Measured SG and it was at ~1.230 or ~75%.