General Classic 150 questions

Started by Wxboy, March 12, 2012, 08:21:05 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Wxboy

I just hooked up my classic 2 days ago so I'm still learning but for now I have 2 basic questions...

1.  In the status screen the Watts In number, is that actual watts going to the battery or is it watts from the panel?  Meaning, does it account for the losses in the controller?  Given that it's called Watts In I would think it's from the panel but since the charge controller has it's own power draw I would think at 10 watts that nothing would be going to the battery but in monitoring voltage on a volt meter it looks like power is going to the battery even with the low power.

2.  Going back to those 10 watts, I know from another thread that the controller rests every 90 seconds when the output is less than 15 or 20 watts.  My question here is, can this be disabled or is there a work around?  With only 1 panel I want every watt I can get and when it rests for 17 seconds every 1:27  I am losing watts so just curious if I can get around this.  Today I had a prolonged time when the panel was shaded and it was reading 10-13 watts and it kept resting.

That's all for now.  My next question will probably be about the log screen since I can't get it to tell me the daily kwh's on this screen but I will play around for a couple of more days before asking a specific question.

I do love the Classic already and can't wait to understand it better.
Midnite Classic 150, 765 watt array, Outback Radian GS4048A inverter, 200ah 48v agm battery bank

boB

Quote from: Wxboy on March 12, 2012, 08:21:05 PM
I just hooked up my classic 2 days ago so I'm still learning but for now I have 2 basic questions...