Equipment locations in relation to my radio equipment

Started by n4zi, March 29, 2014, 10:25:38 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

n4zi

:-\  Gentlemen and Ladies,

I am just getting started and have been purchasing the gear a little at a time. I am curious how much physical
noise and then RFI noise will be generated, by my equipment. The XW6048 showed up yesterday with the control
box. I will have 3 midnite classic 150 that will be mounted right next to the inverter in an area 37 x 36 inches. I
have a choice of locating the equipment in close proximity to my ham radio gear, but could locate it across the room
also. I plan a grid tie with battery backup - batteries are (8) 185xc hc 220ah 12v batteries which will give me (2) 48vdc
battery banks. So roughly 48vdc 440ah. I plan to run 12 - 250 watt sharp panels (X2) 2 midnites 3kw ea. The last
midnite 150 will only have 10 - 100 watt panels feeding it(1kw). My shop is separate from the house and I can isolate
it with breakers at the house panel and 100 amp shop panel. So again question is on noise generated etc. Am I on
the right track? 1 - 6kw dual phase inverter and 3 midnite classic 150 - anyone have a wiring diagram for a configuration
like this. Finally got some time off - plan to review the NEC requirements closely and size all my breakers, wiring etc.

Thanks and 73,

Bill N4ZI
(8) 12vdc RE - 440ah@48Vdc, (10)Grape 100wt -
(24)Sharp 250wt(7kw total) (3) Midnite Classic 150, XW 6048 inverter - still buying hardware!Amateur Radio Op "N4ZI"

boB

Hi Bill...

If you have the choice, I would mount the controllers and inverter farther away from the ham radio than
closer to it.   The battery lines and PV input lines are normally what does the radiating and gets into
the amateur radio antenna.

I would take a bit more care in twisting the PV wires if possible or maybe even putting them in
metal conduit to help shield any EMI getting into those wires on their way to the PV array.