New LiFePO4 installation charge parameters

Started by Muskoka, January 21, 2024, 04:23:31 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Muskoka

Need some assistance, guidance. I've been using lead acid for many years with my Midnite Classic Lite, with MNGP, Whizbang Jr. I have 1540watts of panel.

My lead acid batts were done, end of life. So I've switched to LiFePO4. The battery I purchased is a REDODO 24V 200ah, with a 200a bms.

https://www.redodopower.com/products/redodo-24v-200ah-lifepo4-battery-5-12kwh-5-12kw

I've had the battery since Monday, today was the first day of sun to give it a full solar charge cycle. I had been charging it with a charger and generator for a few days. The charge cycle today was fine, put 130ah back in the battery in about 4 hours, went from Bulk to Absorb, then Float after 15 mins.

Here's the charge parameters I used. From everything I've read the recommended rates from battery sellers are too high. The fellow that posted these also uses a Midnite controller. I did change the end amps though, the manual recommended 4a.

settings2.jpg

First issue, the controller went to Absorb at 28.2v and within maybe 7-8 mins the charge amps had dropped to zero. Why didn't the controller go to Float when end amps had been met. It kept going for the programmed 15 mins of Absorb.

Second issue. The voltage and controller mode are jumping around. There's no meaningful load on the system, my internet router,  but the controler is going from Float, to Bulk MPPT, to Absorb, rinse and repeat. Voltage is going from Float 27.9 drops to 27.1, controller switches to Bulk, then slowly climbs for a few minutes, then jumps to 28.2 in Absorb again, then Float at 27.9, then within a minute or two the voltage drops to 27.1 and the cycle continues. It's currently in Bulk, it's end of day so the sun is gone, so no more data to share.

Here's the recommended charge parameters from the booklet that came with the battery.

settings.jpg