Classic 200 Not Charging Need Help

Started by Chilkat Weir, July 31, 2023, 03:35:32 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Chilkat Weir

I am a tech at a remote field camp in Alaska, we have a battery bank that is charged by a Honda generator and also have a solar array and Classic 200 to hopefully use less gas and keep the generator off during the day.

I was able to finally get the Classic working last summer then it stopped, tried again this year and still wouldn't charge so we replaced the Classic thinking it was an internal issue. Still having the same problem. It shows around 5 to 6 volts of input from the PV with the breaker off, at the same time the panels are producing around 60 volts or more with the sun out according to a voltmeter. As soon as I flip the PV breaker on the input goes up to 6 to 8 volts and when I put the voltmeter on the buss bar for the panels get the same voltage. Why is the power from the panels dropping?

We are charging 4 6 volt AGM batteries with 2 of each in series to make 12 volts then parallel to increase amperage; they are connected to a 1000 watt Magnum Energy inverter/charger that produces 110AC and also connects the generator for charging.

The solar array is 6 130 watt panels for a maximum of 780 watts.

I have been able to get bulk charging to turn on by adjusting the offsets under TWEAKS, -2.0 on battery and +5.0 on input will get the Bulk MTTP to turn on and then the input voltage goes to around 60 volts, amps stay at zero. Stays like this even as the sun goes down and hasn't produced any kWhr on the meter(last year during the short time it ran 1.7 kWh was added to the lifetime total to make it 19.1, so I don't think this system ever worked properly since installtion in 2020). If I go to status and hit enter the input voltage drops from the 6o volt range down to about 16 or less.

I was new to solar last year and have been learning as I go, at this point I am stumped and would appreciate any help. Thanks, Jeff

ClassicCrazy