hot water dump load again

Started by NUMNUM, August 21, 2013, 10:04:01 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

NUMNUM

i have read the post over and over and still do not understand how to wire a dump load to my classic 150.i have a 600 watt dc element 24 volts with thermostat.it sounds like i need a 40 amp relay and a diode.like many before me i don't understand how to wire it up.also can the 150 be programed to turn the element on at night.for a short time if needed.i have the heater hooked up to the batterys as of now with a little gray box ( timer) set for 2 hrs when the sun is up and thats fine unless its cloudy and i forget to turn it off.so as always hope someone can help and thanks if they do.hope someone will post a wiring diagram.

num

zoneblue

Well im no expert but youd need to take into account at least:

-if you use a relay for switching dc , itll need to be a very heavy duty one, to last long. The constant arcing will kill automotive type relays eventually. solid state will definately be better for dc heaters.
-for a relay youll need aux1, non pulsed. use waste not hi and a hold time, maybe something llike 20seconds. So every 20secs it will turn off, retest if theres still spare power then turn on again if so. repeat til dusk. for solid state you can use aux 2 PWM.

-there are two aux ports and each can only do one thing. ie day/nite OR wastenot. You could theoretically use both contacts, using a dry contact OR arrangment i suppose.  But running the heater at night makes little sence unless you have another power source other than solar.

- the aux ports are minimally documented in the manual. keep rereading til it makes sense. then ask about any gaps. firmware adds new features every month.