classic 250/up & running questions/PV shading?

Started by kings, September 05, 2011, 12:55:05 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

kings

We are in an off grid application and bought 4 thin film panels(sharp NA-V115H1) that are made for a grid tie app.
So my question is will the classic 200 be adequate for this app?   What would be further recommended, combiner, disconnect,  etc? 
Also does the classic 200 help with a wind turbine? Currently the turbine is directly connected to the battery bank.
I am new to all things solar(RE), so any input is appreciated.

Thanks
Mike

Westbranch

for wind turbine info search for postings by KEYTURBOCARS he is heavy into the nuances of the Classic and wind applications, also read in the "Clipper section" of the board....

enjoy
KID FW1811 560W >C&D 24V 900Ah AGM
CL150 29032 FW V.2126-NW2097-GP2133 175A E-Panel WBjr, 3Px4s 140W > 24V 900Ah AGM,
2 Cisco WRT54GL i/c DD-WRT Rtr, NetGr DS104Hub
Cotek ST1500 Inv  want a 24V  ROSIE Inverter
OmniCharge3024  Eu1/2/3000iGens
West Chilcotin 1680+W to come

laszlo

Mike,

The panel in question has an open circuit voltage (VOC) of 238V, and max power voltage (VMP)  of 174V, according to the panel spec sheet  at http://www.solardesigntool.com/components/module-panel-solar/Sharp/NA-V115H1/specification-data-sheet.html. This high a VOC is pushing the limits of the 200,  so you should really get a 250. This also means you will have to parallel connect your panels.  The max fuse rating for these panels is 2A, so you need to get 2amp breakers and wire your panels in a combiner box rated for 250V or higher, with each panel positive going to its own disconnect. Also, due to he high voltage of the panels, make sure to cover the panels with a blanket or some other suitable sunblock when you work on this system and make connections.