Help designing PV and Wind Setup on a Sailboat

Started by musterpoint, June 01, 2014, 11:32:50 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

musterpoint

Hi Folks.
  I'm new to solar and looking to build a system on my sailboat.  Not knowing much, I went out and bought 4 x 260w solar panels.

Then I started looking for charge controller.  Not the right way of doing things, I know but I'm learning the hard way, what can I say?

The boat has a 12v system supplied by a 330ah battery bank (3 x 12v marine batteries); shore power with an inverter/charger and 80ah alternator and not much else.

The PV panels will go 2 on the radar arch and 2 on the cockpit roof.  I've been told each location should be a separate string because of shading from the sails etc. meaning I'll need at least 2 controllers.  However when I use the KID sizing tool I get the following result: (see attachment)

I'm looking for advice and a components list so I can design a system that is 'Marine Capable' and allows me to add a wind generator and backup gas generator in stages.

Any advice is appreciated

tecnodave

Musterpoint,

Welcome to the forum,

You are on the right path. The panels will not be at optimum orientation to the sun so 520 watts in into one kid will be OK, you are right the at the  limit on power but it is doable. I would start with two array's feeding two kid controllers in follow me mode. Bully mode would not be appropriate here as the two arrays will have different exposure. When you obtain a wind generator another charge controller would be required as well. This could be a wind kid with a kid clipper which is in development right now for a small turbine, maybe 300-400 watts on 12 volts, or a Classic and clipper for larger wind turbine. The. clipper is required to control the wind turbine when the battery bank has been charged. I think on a sailboat only a small wind generator would be appropriate due to windage.