Clipper- Is there any other way to dump with the Classic

Started by firehawk71, March 21, 2012, 01:09:02 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

firehawk71

Hello everyone, I got real excited to hear a midnight classic could control a wind turbine. I am a newbie and still learning here so go easy on me..lol
I know something has to be done with excess power from the turbine. I never herd of the clipper to last week. Then I thought it would be a great item to use. Until I looked at the price! Why is this item so expensive twice that of the controller? And is there a way the Controller can use a regular dump station and work without the clipper? Thanks

Volvo Farmer

It depends on what kind of wind turbine you have.  Before the clipper was commercially available, Ryan figured out a crowbar type clipper that would short the phases using the Classic's Aux1 output to keep the voltage from rising above the Classics limit. This seems to work well with Piggot style dual rotor turbines but I cannot comment on other designs.  Additionally, you can use a regular PWM type controller and a dump load to keep the battery voltage from getting too high.

I'm doing it this way and it does work. Basically you let the classic run wide open all the time and set the charging parameters higher than the dump setpoint.  If you let the Classic go through it's normal bulk/absorb/float routine, it will unload the turbine, and you generally don't want to be flying an unloaded turbine.

ChrisOlson

Old thread.  But I'd like to point out that if you use clipper control on Aux 2 with a SSR it never unloads the turbine.  I have all my wind Classics set to the proper charge stage voltages and if the turbine is putting out too much power and it tries to drive the voltage over the charge stage setpoint the clipper comes on and holds the voltage at the proper level.