No Battery , Configuration with only a Dump Load

Started by romekgm, March 12, 2014, 05:00:04 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

romekgm

Hi guys, maybe you can help me
I'm a student of Aeronautics, and we currently trying to build a computer model of the Bergey Excel 1kw Wind Turbine
We have purchased the Turbine, 3 phase AC2DC Converter the MidNite Controller, and 3000W DumpLoad
1) Is there a possibility to use the MidNite Controller only with the Dump Load, without the Battery attached, I don’t need the power or the charging cycles, just want to measure how much the turbine can produce for specific wind (measurement done with anemometer),but cant just unload it because of the high possible RPM
2) Is there an option for the controller to keep steady RPM with different wind velocities?(maybe with the predefined power curve?)

Thanks in advance
Roman

TomW

Quote from: romekgm on March 12, 2014, 05:00:04 PM
Hi guys, maybe you can help me
I'm a student of Aeronautics, and we currently trying to build a computer model of the Bergey Excel 1kw Wind Turbine
We have purchased the Turbine, 3 phase AC2DC Converter the MidNite Controller, and 3000W DumpLoad
1) Is there a possibility to use the MidNite Controller only with the Dump Load, without the Battery attached, I don’t need the power or the charging cycles, just want to measure how much the turbine can produce for specific wind (measurement done with anemometer),but cant just unload it because of the high possible RPM
2) Is there an option for the controller to keep steady RPM with different wind velocities?(maybe with the predefined power curve?)

Thanks in advance
Roman

Roman;

This has come up before. Sadly, the answer is "no". You will need a battery to power up the Classic at least.

I will poke Ryan on this and he can address the specifics.

Maybe one of the Midnite Engineers will pop in with a response.

Tom
Do NOT mistake me for any kind of "expert".

( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)