Do I have a problem with my solar panel or my classic 150?

Started by noelana2009, July 28, 2014, 07:59:28 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

noelana2009

Hello admin and to all midnite solar classic enthusiast, 

Please help, I'm a newbie with solar power system, I setup my diy solar panel to a small 17Ah vrla battery, new classic 150, for testing and it doesn't charge my battery at all, the display status shows 17.6V In before charging starts (resting - see status 2 pic) and goes down to 12.5V when charging bulk mppt (see status 1 pic) but there is no watts produced,  and it's just like this for hours starting from 9am to till sun's out.

Other photos attached shows other parameters of the classic.

Does a tinted window glass block the sunlight totally as I'm currently staying at 7th floor and the only place I can setup my system is to position the panel in a big window. The voltage reading in the sola panel is 18.4volts at peak.

Thank you all very much in advance!

Noel :o

Halfcrazy

Yes window glass will have a very adverse effect. Especially tinted as it is designed to block the light. I suspect thats the issue. How big is the solar panel in Watts?
Changing the way wind turbines operate one smoke filled box at a time

noelana2009

It's just 1x100watt panel.

If my diy panel produce 18v, is it possible that it will not produce watts as suggest by one guy in other forum that the solar cell might have unseen cracks or bad construction?

Thanks a lot!

Westbranch

Yes, does your screen show any watts, if not the pV is not making any...  put the panel on the deck or porch as an experiment...
KID FW1811 560W >C&D 24V 900Ah AGM
CL150 29032 FW V.2126-NW2097-GP2133 175A E-Panel WBjr, 3Px4s 140W > 24V 900Ah AGM,
2 Cisco WRT54GL i/c DD-WRT Rtr, NetGr DS104Hub
Cotek ST1500 Inv  want a 24V  ROSIE Inverter
OmniCharge3024  Eu1/2/3000iGens
West Chilcotin 1680+W to come

noelana2009