Need help with battery back up system

Started by misfit138, November 14, 2012, 12:59:50 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

misfit138

Hello Im new to the forums. and have a few questions

Heres some info of what i have,
I have a 6.8 solar system, 40 BP panels at 170 watts each and a sunny boy 6000 inverter. The system was installed about 5 years ago and is grid tied and i have been looking to hook a battery bank incase of power outs.I would like to be able to switch back and forth from batteries and grid tie wither it be automatic and or manual if at all possible. I live Close to the shore in New Jersey, ( so im sure you have heard what hurrican sandy did and its not a pretty picture) And this is why i would like to get started on a design and get movingon what i would need. I am a machinest and welder by trade so making things comes pretty easy, my down fall is electronics so any help would be appreciaed. also in the near future i would like to do a small windmill so id like to hopefully be able to tie that in somehow. I know batteries are expensive so i will start off small and  in time add more to increase power.

Thanks In advance. 

mtdoc

Unfortunately, it is not so easy as just buying batteries and adding it to your system.   In order to make use of your existing Grid tie system, you will need a charge controller and another inverter as well to do what is called AC coupling.  SMA makes the Sunny Island inverter which will do this and I believe Midnite has a brand new pre-wired epanel that uses this inverter.  Doing this will not be cheap. It is also fairly complicated - though Midnites epanel will simplify it somewhat. 

Have a look at SMAs website info on their Sunny Island inverter for more details. I'm sure someone from Midnite can chime in here and provide more details about their Sunny Island epanel.  Here is a link to the Midnite brochure.