DC Solar Trailer set up with 10 extra panels.

Started by Cking11, August 12, 2022, 12:20:56 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Cking11

Hello all,

I'm very new to the solar world and learning as I go but I'm running into trouble getting my batteries to charge and would love some input on settings/ setup/ any help to get me rolling in the right direction. Thank you in advance to all who contribute.

I recently bought a patch of dirt to live on to sum it up shortly. I am living in a 36' fifth wheel on the property while I build and found a DC solar trailer with a 10K diesel generator for what I felt like was a fair deal and was hoping to run my trailer/ set up while I build. Im hoping this topic has come up in here before and there are some people familiar with these trailers.  But in a quick breakdown I'm running 2 sunny island 6k inverters, midnite classic 250 charge controller, 2 540AH 48V lead acid forklift batteries, and 10 260 watt panels. I live in AZ and have full sun from 7am to 7pm roughly and have not once been able to get a charge from my solar system. I run my generator every night for 5 hours to charge my batteries back to 99% SOC and it will run my trailer all day but slowly brings my SOC down to 50% when I start my generator back up. My trailer is running 240V roughly 20A or a little under in most cases because of the A/C units.

Things I've tried so far.
Batteries seem to be in great working order and storage seems adequate for my need. I can shut them down at 9pm at 99% SOC and when I get up in the morning 5AM there around 75%